Thursday, February 21, 2008

Prayers Needed!~

 

A friend, Bobby Kilgore, needs prayers for his Dad.  He had a stroke and is currently unresponsive.

I may be away for a few days.  My family and I have the crud that is going around.  Hubby has been coughing, wheezing, and very congested.  Daughter has been congested and had a sore throat.  I am coughing and throwing up.  I can't keep anything down.  We need prayers and good thoughts!~

Thanks so much!~

Susan

 

Monday, February 18, 2008

Why I Lost My Job!~ (A Vent)

 
 
 
A coworker went out on maternity leave to have her third child.  The transcription manger asked me to work full time while she was out.  I told her I would do my best.  I have medical issues going on that make it hard for me to sit and type 8 hours straight anymore and I had reverted to parttime two Autumns ago because of it.  She asked me to submit a schedule.  At the time, I had been working onsite because my computer at home was in the shop.  I really enjoyed it.  I told her I would like to drop my daughter off at school and come on into work.  I would work until about 2:00 PM, then leave to go pick up my daughter from school.  I would work the rest of the hours from home after she was picked up as I was needed.  My boss said okay.
 
Right after I submitted that schedule, I took a turn for the worse medically.  She had also told me if I forgot to clock in or out one more time, I would be written up.  She was going to write me up three times that last week, one for not working my schedule (I had submitted paperwork outlining my medical conditions, she said I didn't), one for forgetting the clock code (I didn't forget, I just used the wrong clock code), and one for telling one of the radiologists that I type for off (he so deserved it).  I had put up with his crap for two years.  I think I showed remarkable patience.  He is one of those kinds of people, you cannot please no matter how hard you try and believe me, I bent over backwards to try and please him to no avail.  The last weekend I had worked onsite with him, he reduced me to tears.  She wrote me up for insubordination.  She said I was insubordinate to her because I was to vent to her, not the doctor.  They didn't pay me enough to be abused by this man and to me, that is what is was, out-and-out abuse!~
 
My paperwork from my doc stated that I had cognitive issues such as concentration problems and memory loss.  I went straight to him and got it and took it back to her the last time she had written me up for not working my schedule.  I did not think it was fair that she was going to write me up for that again after I had submitted paperwork saying I had certain cognitive issues.
 
That last submitted schedule wasn't my schedule, it was a temporary schedule I was trying to work to help her out.  Nevermind that I got all of my work done every day, just not to their timetable (with only a couple of exceptions).
 
So.......I quit before she could write me up all those times.  I really think that is why she did it anyway, I think she wanted me to quit.  It's funny how my paperwork mysteriously disappeared.  She said I never submitted anything to her in writing about my medical conditions.  It was my word against hers.  I feel they should have believed me over her because I had 6.5 years in with them, she had only been there since the summer.
 
I have gone back to work for a former employer still doing medical transcription from home, but I don't mind telling you, it still hurts and that was the end of December.  I feel like when I needed the hospital the most, they turned their back on me.  I had always considered it a great place to work because their policy was "Go the last mile for your employee and they will go the last mile for you."
 
My former boss would have worked with me, not given up on me.  The only problem I had with my former boss is her mouth.  She loved to gossip and would go around telling things that should have been kept to herself being in a supervisory position, but given the choice, I would take the former overthe latter anytime.
 
I have thought about writing a letter with these points in them and request that my letter be put in my file, so if she should ever leave, it would be on record that I disagreed with all of her write-ups.
 
I had been written up twice before for not working my schedule.  Life has not been kind to us since we moved back to Alabama.  We had the issues of my son's divorce to contend with, I got wrote up twice (each time my former DIL filed court papers to take my son back to court for money.  I became inconsolable.  It felt like she was saying, the money means more to me than any of you ever did).  We also had my in-laws failing health to contend with and my medical issues, etc.  It did interfere with my work schedule.  I don't deny that.  We have a six-hour turn-around in transcription.  The reports need to be gotten out ASAP.  I understand that.  For the most part, I feel I did the best I could do.  The director over the department called me high maintenance.  I can't tell you how badly that hurt me, as I have always prided myself on doing a great job.  It felt like a knife going into my chest when she said that to me.
 
By quitting, it has left my family without insurance, but my stress level has gone waaaaay down, so in essence it was worth it.  I will have insurance again in 90 days.  I just pray nothing serious happens before then.  I have issues going on right now that need medical attention.
 
I have debated on whether or not to write a letter to HR and request that it be put in my file, but I really feel God leading me to let it go.  I have tried to give myself some distance from the situation to see if my perspective changed, it hasn't.
 
My prayer for the two superiors who were over me is that they never have to walk in my shoes.  As for the manager's "lie" that I never submitted anything to her in writing about my medical condition, I find it hard to believe that she would outright lie about it like that.  I would like to think she actually doesn't remember.  I guess I am too trusting.  I just know it still really, really hurts.
 
Signed,
 
Me
 

Sunday, February 17, 2008

Juvenile Delinquents!~

I tried to upload the Candlyland protest video on AOL, but apparently it was too long.  I tried to upload it on my Carebear's You Tube sight, but still........no cigar.  ::sigh::  So........until I figure out what the heck is going on, click on this link:

http://www.youtube.com/user/cjanna9

You will see two videos she has made.  One should be titled Juvenile Delinquents instead of Parking Lot, lol.  They had gone to the movies and this is what transpired after the movies while they were waiting on me to pick them up. 

The title that says Cheesecake is a video to her best friend who moved to S.C.  That is the one I think is funny.  My Carebear who is Cupcake to Cheesecake (got that?) is supposed to be going to visit her Cheesecake this weekend.  She made this video to her.  There is a special appearance by Captain Jack Sparrow at the end.  Cheesecake gave Captain Jack to Cupcake for Christmas because she knew her Cupcake was a huge fan! To clarify, Cupcake is my Carebear.  Got it?

Photobucket

Enjoy!~

Severe Weather and Prayer Requests!~

 

Severe weather is predicted for the deep south today.  Would so appreciate prayers and good thoughts for those who are in its path, including my family.  They are predicting severe thunderstorms with 70-mile-an-hour winds that can spawn tornadoes.

Also I request continued prayers and good thoughts for a friend who lost her daughter in a senseless accident.  Amie was a twin, has a young son named Brighton.  She worked for a local factory.  Her boyfriend worked in the same factory.  They got into an argument.  She left.  He followed.  He ran her off the road and when he hit her car, it caused him to lose control and he went off the opposite side.  The accident killed them both.  Amie was only 23.  I am not sure of Chris's age, but I know he was pretty young also.  Please continue to remember these families in your prayers.

Anger can cause things to happen before you know it, which is why we need a cool-down time before we try to deal with something that might make us so angry we will regret our actions later.  Perhaps, we can all learn a lesson here.  Walk away, people, walk away!~

My prayers go out to the Ferguson and Pitts families.

Blessings!~

Susan

Saturday, February 16, 2008

Happy Valentines Day (Belated)!~

 

I wanted to do an entry on Valentines Day, but my new work computer and dictation station came and I had to get it online to get ready to start my new job in a few days.  To have this computer online at the same time, I needed my router, which was still at the old house.  So my entry is a few days late.  ::sigh::

When I started doing medical transcription in 1998, an older lady, Shirley, whom I affectionately called Sarge trained me.  She is responsible for the medical transcriptionist I am today, at least a large part of it.  Valentines Day is her birthday.  So this is a belated Happy Birthday to Sarge.

You might be old, but you ain't dead, Sarge.  Mwahahahahahahaaaaaa!  Hope your birthday was a good one!~

 

It was also my nephew, Joshua's birthday.  Happy Belated Birthday, Joshua!  I think I have a pic of him on the computer somewhere.  I will have to look and come back and add it in. 

 

AOL STILL has not fixed the problem with my journal.  I STILL cannot add more than one pic at a time.  ::big sigh::  What a pain in the *#%&^*!!!!!!

Hope you all had a nice Valentine's Day and are having a nice weekend!~

Blessings!~

Susan

 

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

Nice People!~

Linda (fasttrack58), Ginger (slimhawk), and Sam (gaboatman)have picked me for the Nice Matters Award.  I am so honored to be chosen more than once.  Thank you, guys, you're the best!  I feel so undeserving, I really do.

Now I'm to pick six to pass the award on to, which is a hard thing to do because everyone is always so nice here in J-Land....

I have to pick my first friends here in J-Land:

Amy  Sugar Spice and Everything Nice

Lori   Lori's Laurels

You both have been there for me through thick and thin.  You always have a word of encouragement for me when I am down.  Amy you cheer me with your wonderful wit and Lori, you never hesitate to pray for me when I ask.  I am so grateful for your friendship.

Mary Louise, you are losing your sister in a different way than I lost my Scottie Boy, but I know what it feels like to lose a sibling and you inspire me with your never-ending love for Peggy and her struggle with Alzheimers.

 
Joyce, what can I say?  When you found out about what is going on with my son, you called me personally on the phone and offered words of encouragement to me.  I will always be thankful to you for that.
 
 
Barbara, as our leader in Sister's In Christ, you go beyond the call of duty.  I will be at my lowest point and when I least expect it, there will be a card from you in my email to encourage me and lift me up.  Thank you, my friend.
 
 
And I have to pick one guy, at least. ;-) That would have to be Mark  Mark's Daily Journal
 
 
 
Mark you are an inspiration to me because you have been through so much, but you are a trooper and you keep on keeping on.  Many times you have had a kind word for me too whether through email or journal comments.  I so appreciate your friendship.
 
I treasure every friend I have made here in J-Land.  There are so many more friends worthy of this award.  You know who you are.  If you commented me in my journal, I mean you!  You are all appreciated as well as all of your wonderful comments in my four journals, Myspace, and Facebook, but most of all I value your friendship.  I am rich in friends.  THAT is what matters.
 
Blessings!~
<FONTFACE="COMIC size="4" color="#cc66cc" MS? Sans>

The Price of Freedom!~

 

On Sunday night, I watched one of my most favorite TV shows, Extreme Makeover:  Home Edition.  It was about a marine who had served two tours of duty in Iraq and during the last tour of duty his leg got blown off.  If memory serves me correctly,  it was when his convoy hit a land mine.  He has a prosthetic leg now.  His wife left him after he said she became so overwhelmed with everything leaving him with four children to raise.  Even after all this man has been through, he still finds the time to go around to the area hospitals and talk to the other soldiers who are wounded and left maimed in one form or another.  I cried my eyeballs out while watching this.  All of the military are my heroes.

There is nothing that makes me any more angry than to hear ignorant people put down our president because of this war.  To me, when they do this, it means all of the military personnel who have died, who have been injured, and who are still in harms way have served in vain.  It means all of the people who died in the World Trade Center died in vain.  What I hope to do in writing this entry is to bring about awareness as to why this war is necessary.  What it boils down to is a war against terrorism and do we want this war on our soil or theirs?

I, for one, am thankful to God that we have a president in office who PRAYS.  I am glad that he is a man who stands behind his word.  He told Saddam what would happen if he did not comply and when Saddam did not comply, President Bush stood behind his word and sent our troops in.  He brought down a man who was a threat to us, to other countries, and to his people, a man who was as cold as ice and a monster to his own people.  His sons were just as bad as he was.  I read that one of them was walking down the street and saw a woman he wanted and he raped her right there on the street.  I am glad all three of them are dead.  Iraq is a better place without them.  ::shudder::

I am scared to death of the people who are currently running for president.  I hear the majority of them talking about the war and how they are against it.  They talk big like, "If I am elected president, one of the first things I am going to do is bring our troops home."  I say to you if they do this before it is time, they will undo everything that has been done so far and put our country, our people, in great jeopardy!!!!!

Frankly, this really scares me.  We all want our troops home safe and sound.  We are all deeply saddened by the deaths and the injuries of our troops, none more than their loved ones, but those of us who have any sense about us know that FREEdom is not FREE.  It comes with a GREAT sacrifice, especially to our military and their families.  Perhaps if America would turn back to the Christian principles in which she was founded on and we all hit our knees and actually were to PRAY earnestly for our troops, we wouldn't be losing so many.

11 CHRONICLES 7: 14

If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble
themselves and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then shall I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land."

I do not want to ruffle any feathers by writing this, but it is something I feel VERY strongly about.

God Bless America and God Bless Our Troops!~

Signed,

Susan, a wife and mother who is very grateful for the sacrifice of our military personnel and their families so that my loved ones can remain free.

 

 

 

P.S.  If you could watch that show on Sunday night and not shed a tear, then something is wrong with you. 

Monday, February 11, 2008

Redo!~

Before:

TV is supposed to go on the top shelf with DVD player and/or cable box underneath.

TV was sitting on a blue tub by the dresser.

After:

Frontal View.

 

View from across the bedroom.

Hubby finally got the holes drilled in the cabinet so the TV and cable box could be gotten off the blue tub by the dresser!  It looks soooooooooooo much nicer than having it sitting on the floor and having to walk around it!~

I have a video to post of my lovely daughter with me questioning her about a change that was made in a classic board game, Candyland, which she is vehemently protesting.  Gotta get that battery charged so I can transfer it.  She is too funny!~

Blessings!~

 

Friday, February 8, 2008

For Gaz

Gaz's comment per this pic:

 

Comment from gazker
2/7/08 11:21 PM 

I am confused as you said carrot top has a cheddar cheese fetish, but in the photo she was drinking.......... chedder cheese?
Gaz
*********************************************************************
To clarify for you Gaz, I tried to take a close-up pic of the container for you:
 
 
This cheddar cheese is in a powder form.  You sprinkle it over popcorn, which the kids had just been eating.  Carrot Top was sprinkling the cheese directly into her mouth instead of on the popcorn.  :-)
 
Hope that clarifies it a little better!~
 
Blessings!~
 
Susan
 
 
 

Thursday, February 7, 2008

How we spent superbowl weekend!~

We had a superbowl party at our house, nevermind that it had nothing to do with the superbowl.  So......why call it a superbowl par-tay?  Well duh!  It was Superbowl weekend!  What else was I gonna call it? 

It started on Saturday evening.  The party participants are Sunshine, Carebear, Carrot Top, and myself.  Hubby was the usual party pooper.  For the most part, he stayed in his "lair" as he refers to "our" bedroom.  We stayed up until the wee hours of the morning watching movies and eating lots of junk and sugary things as evidenced by the stuff on the coffee table.  I see soda, McFlurry, Chilli Cheese Fritos, food from McD's, Everlasting Gobstoppers...........oh wait......I see one healthy thing, Dasani water.  ::snort::

 

 

Carrot Top kept us entertained with her antics.  She is sooooooooo funny!~

Carrot Top is impersonating "Old Gregg" from The MightyBoosh Show in the UK.  Carebear finds Carrot Top's impersonation of Old Gregg hysterical.  Carrot Top sounds just like him.

Are we havin' fun yet?  Carrot Top is like Robin Williams, she never turns off.  Wonder if they are related somewhere down the line?

What is Carrot Top doing to my Carebear?

Hmmm.......Sunshine and Carrot Top seem to have a Carebear arm fetish.  :-o

Carrot Top has a new mouth (just between you and me, it looks strangely like my Carebear's arm).

Well, what do ya know?  Sunshine does know how to smile!  Carrot Top is cracking all of us up with her antics.

Carrot Top is now doing her impersonation of Ozzy.  She is sooooooo crackin' us up!  She does Ozzy better than Ozzy does Ozzy!~

Awww, great smile, Carrot Top!~

Where did Carebear go?  All I see is a leg.  What is Carrot Top doing to my Carebear now?????

Is Sunshine in on the torture of my Carebear?

And Carebear is down for the count...1...2...3....Carrot Top wins!

Carebear seeks refuge behind Sunshine.

Carebear is pooped after all the fun.

Shhhhh!  It's a secret.  Carrot Top has a cheddar cheese fetish.

Carrot Top are you snortin' cheddar cheese again???????

Did I mention that Sunshine broke Carrot Top's thumb?  Ouch!

Carebear!  Carebear, are you breathing?  Carebear!

Who knew teenagers could wear me out so?

On Sunday, we had chilli dogs, chips and dip, and soda for lunch.  We didn't watch even one minute of the game, but Hubby did and claims "his" team won.  Yeah right.  His team is the Denver Broncos and we all know they weren't the ones in the superbowl!!!!  We hung out all day Sunday listening to more of Carrot Tops antics.  Later in the evening after dark, we went for a ride in the truck.  They wanted to ride in the back.  I took them down the dark creepy back roads.  Something hit the truck and made a minor noise.  They all three screamed, it was hysterical.  I dropped Carrot Top off first.  She gave us a huge thing of our fav candy, Hot Tamales.  She said that ought to last us a while.  Um, Carrot Top, I hate to tell ya, but they are already gone.  Carebear and I go through those babies fasssssssssssst!~

Sunshine and Carebear still chose to ride in back of the truck after we dropped Carrot Top off, so I drove very slow down the back roads around the backwaters.  We are talking creepy roads with a capital C!!!!

Sunshine has this thing about bridges and water, so I made sure I went over the longest bridge with the most water under it.  Ain't I just the evil one?  ::cackle::  Funny thing is, I have that same phobia, but because it was night, it didn't bother me.  I just kept my eyes straight ahead on the road.

We dropped Sunshine off and came home and went to bed!  We were pooped.  It was a fun weekend, but those teenagers wore my tired old arse out and here it is almost the weekend again and I still haven't recuperated from the last one!  As far as I know, Carebear only has one friend coming over this weekend.  Thank goodness!  I need a rest!~

Gotta meet the new friend's parents.  Make a note to self:  Be on your best behavior.  Be on your best behavior.  Be on your best behavior.  Be on your..........

That's all folks!~